1995 Math Awareness Month at the University of Vermont

Mathematics and Symmetry

Tee Shirt design

For the 1996 Math Awareness Homepage click here.

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Vermont is pleased to sponsor the following events in celebration of National Math Awareness Week.

On Campus Activities

Tuesday, March 28, 10:50 A.M. - 12:00:

Lecture on ``One Model of Calculus Reform'' by Tim Pennings, visiting professor from Hope College, Michigan

Early April:

April 24 - 28:

Mathematical questions on campus radio station WRUV.

Thursday, April 27:

Lecture: ``The Key is Symmetry: How Everyone Can Create Attractive Math Art Using a Few Basic Steps"

Lecturer: Margaret Kenney, Professor of Mathematics, Boston College. Dr. Kenney is a past president of the Associations of Teachers of Mathematics in Massachusetts and in New England. In addition to teaching, writing, and speaking, she serves as Director of a National Science Foundation project linking Boston College with five other universities across the United States in the common goal of preparing secondary teachers to initiate change and to implement aspects of discrete mathematics in the secondary curriculum.

Thursday, May 4:

Professor Gail Ratcliff of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Missouri at St. Louis, will speak at a luncheon honoring high school mathematics contest winners, their parents, and teachers. This talk is in conjunction with the High School Prize Examination Committee, chaired by Larry Kost.

Her talk will focus on symmetry groups, with reference to the work of M. C. Escher. Interesting applications to friezes and wallpaper will be included.

The talk will also be presented to a wider audience, including university and community members at 4:00 P.M., 104 Aiken Building.

General Information on National Math Awareness Week

Other Cool Sites

UVM Math Awareness Committtee

Joanne Brown (co-chair), Karin Larson (co-chair), Jim Burgmeier, Karla Karstens, and Janet Ferguson.

This HTML file written by Jeff Dinitz and Roger Cooke.